Holy Cow inspired money box

When I was in Pushkar, Rajasthan last year I spotted these donation boxes outside the temples, all handpainted with cows. I saw a lot of cows too. In fact one in particular had its eye on me the entire time I sat by the water’s edge.

holy cow_box

india_temple_donation_box

It was absolutely blistering heat that day and the floors burnt my feet with every step.

There are a lot of tourist market stalls around when you first enter Pushkar, selling clothes, jewellery and usual touristy stuff but one thing they don’t sell which they should is a miniature version of their donation boxes. But hey I just found this instead…

MONEY TIN

Available from online store Scaramanga (£25) it’s the coolest home for spare pennies I’ve seen in a long long time.

And now for some real holy cows…

cows in puskhar rajasthan
Cows of Pushkar, Rajasthan, India

Puskar images: http://www.craftandtravel.com

Author: Craft and Travel

Hi, I'm Momtaz. Join me as I travel the world through art, craft, design and fashion. On my blog you'll find lots of colourful and creative inspiration to inspire your own vacations. I write about destination guides, local hot spots to check out, hotels with great design, openings of new art exhibitions, shopping ideas to help bring global style into your home and crafts I've discovered along the way - all while sharing my own vibrant sense of fashion and style.

Leave a comment